Monday, January 12, 2009

OK, This Is NOT Good!

... WINTER STORM WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 PM EST /9 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ TUESDAY... ... BLIZZARD WATCH IN EFFECT FROM WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON THROUGH THURSDAY AFTERNOON...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN (The Great Suburban Outback) HAS ISSUED A WINTER STORM WARNING FOR HEAVY SNOW AND BLOWING SNOW... WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 10 PM EST /9 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ TUESDAY. A BLIZZARD WATCH HAS ALSO BEEN ISSUED. THIS BLIZZARD WATCH IS IN EFFECT FROM WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON THROUGH THURSDAY AFTERNOON.

SNOW WILL OVERSPREAD THE REGION BETWEEN 7 AND 10 PM THIS EVENING AND CONTINUE INTO TUESDAY AFTERNOON BEFORE DIMINISHING. NORTHWEST WINDS WILL RAPIDLY STRENGTHEN EARLY TUESDAY MORNING... WITH SUSTAINED WIND SPEEDS OF 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 35 MPH. THESE WIND SPEEDS... WITH GENERALLY 4 TO 7 INCHES OF NEWLY FALLEN SNOW... COMBINED WITH SNOW ALREADY ON THE GROUND... WILL CREATE NEAR WHITEOUT CONDITIONS AT TIMES. SIGNIFICANT DRIFTING IS ALSO EXPECTED. TEMPERATURES WILL ALSO FALL RAPIDLY DURING THE DAY WHICH... COMBINED WITH THE STRONG WINDS WILL CAUSE WIND CHILLS TO DROP TO NEAR 10 BELOW ZERO BY EVENING.

ANOTHER WINTER STORM WILL BRING THE POTENTIAL FOR HEAVY SNOW... BLOWING SNOW AND DANGEROUSLY COLD WIND CHILLS TO THE REGION WEDNESDAY INTO THURSDAY. SUSTAINED WINDS OF 20 TO 30 MPH WITH HIGHER GUSTS WOULD SUPPORT ZERO VISIBILITIES... WHITE OUT CONDITIONS AND SIGNIFICANT DRIFTING SNOW. IN ADDITION... A PERIOD OF HEAVY LAKE EFFECT SNOW WILL BE POSSIBLE IN PORTIONS OF (the Great Suburban Outback.) PERSONS PLANING TRAVEL DURING THIS PERIOD SHOULD STAY ABREAST TO THE LATEST FORECASTS AND PREPARE FOR A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

2 comments:

Paul Tri Boy said...

And I complain of the cold here in Australia. It gets cold here at 12 Deg C.

Anonymous said...

Laughing in ND